Death By Audio Turns Into a Sculptural Maze for Three Weeks This Fall

youarehere-themaze-flyer.jpg

For three weeks this fall, everybody's favorite 40-oz-frenzied noise den Death By Audio will consist almost entirely of a life-sized sculptural maze of narrow corridors, unexpected turns, and actual dead-ends. It's an elaborate construction made specifically for a self-contained 23-day-long installation and performance "anti-festival festival" in which a bevy of versatile musicians and artists (Calvin Johnson, the Coathangers, Screaming Females, Anamanaguchi, Grooms, and countless more) play shows within the confines of this tailor-made labyrinth. Curators/artists/organizers Sam Hillmer and Laura Paris, a married Bushwick-based couple who collaborate under the moniker Trouble, call the series "You Are Here (AKA The Maze)," and from the looks of the videos made from the first time they set up one of these, witnessing bands in the maze will be very much like touring a mini-zoo--Videohippoes, Pygmy Shrews, Twisty Cat and all.

The press release explicitly asks for suspension of logistical expectation: "There is no prescribed order, start time or end time, duration, location of performance, relation of audience to performers, and so on. . . Audiences will be asked only to expect something unusual." The whole thing kicks off next Thursday, September 10, goes through Friday, October 2, and Delicious Beverages is not a house band, but the people behind the two-hour open bar on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays. Expect to be disoriented, confused, wowed, frustrated, elated, lost, patient, drunk.

Maze Schedule:

Thursday 9.10.09
Skeletons Big Band
Knyfe Hyts 81
Pterodactyl
Gowns
Dan Friel
Social Junk
Mincemeat
+Delicious Beverages

Friday 9.11.09
The Sian Alice Group
Nine 11 Thesaurus
Experimental Dental School
Reading Rainbow
+Delicious Beverages

Saturday 9.12.09
Extra Life
Lichens
Pygmy Shrews
Up Died Sound
SETH (jeff and lala from excepter)
Interdependence Project
+Delicious Beverages

Sunday 9.13.09
The Present
Opsvik & Jennings
Rich Johnson
Blast Off!
+Delicious Beverages

Monday 9.14.09
Calvin Johnson
Arrington Dionyso
Desolation Wildnerness
Regattas
City Center

Tuesday 9.15.09
Loud Objects
Twisty Cat
Random Cutting
Mega Calderos
Aftermath

Wednesday 9.16.09
White Suns
Chaos Magic
Little Big
Buckets of Bile
Bird Music

Thursday 9.17.09
Grooms
Videohippos
Starring
PC Worship
Anamanaguchi
Dome Theater

Friday 9.18.09
Ty Segal
The Mantles
The Holy Experiment
BJ Rubin
Worlddancearound
Dome Theater
+Delicious Beverages

Saturday 9.19.09
High Red Center
Alexis Gideon
Make A Rising
Shelly Short
Ribbons
+Delicious Beverages

Sunday 9.20.09
Vaz
Clan of the Cave Bear
Necking
Baby Birds Don't Drink Milk
+Delicious Beverages

Monday 9.21.09
Sam Mickens/Mike Pride Duo
Jantar
Nsumi
tbd

Tuesday 9.22.09
Drummer's Corpse
Hunter Gatherer
Aaron Seigel
Meredith Arena

Wednesday 9.23.09
Shooting Spires
Legs
Grafitti Monsters
Crime Novels
Lord Easy

Thursday 9.24.09
Sam Hillmer/ Arrington Dionsyo Duo
Charlie Looker
Daniel Carter Quartet
Total Bolsheviks

Friday 9.25.09
Electroputas
Regattas
Chuck Bettis / Mario Diaz de Leon
BJ Rubin
Dome Theater
+Delicious Beverages

Saturday 9.26.09
The Sleepy Doug Shaw
Hannah Marcus / Tianna Kennedy
The Screaming Females
Cheap Ventilators
The Weird Fantasy Band
+Delicious Beverages

Sunday 9.27.09
Symbol
Laurel Halo
The Slowest Runner in the World
Post Abortion Stress

Monday 9.28.09
Telecult powers
Syn. Toffs
Bassoon
Alterazioni Video Collective

Tuesday 9.29.09
The Coathangers
Nervehunt (Justin from Teeth Mountain / Ryan from Wavves)
Xray Eyeballs
Swimmingcitiesoceanofblood

Wednesday 9.30.09
Nymph
Emma Kupa (of Standard Fare)
Ava Luna

Thursday 10.1.09
Crash Diet Crew
Cntrl Top
Hotchacha
Islands Eyelids
Deborah Karp/ Meredith Arena

Friday 10.2.09
Zs
Excepter
Mick Barr
Noveller
BJ Rubin
Dome Theater
+Delicious Beverages

My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Now Trending

New York Concert Tickets

From the Vault

 

Loading...