Saturday's Headlines: 'So I killed someone. That makes me a bad guy?'

Categories: Featured
HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset

Your Saturday New York headlines...

Second suspect in December hate-murder of Ecuadoran immigrant arrested: "So I killed somone. That make me a bad guy?"

Jimmy Fallon admits being nervous before starting his run at "Late Night." See Rob Harvilla's Voice story about The Roots, and how the members feel about trading a life constantly on the road to become Fallon's house band.

More trouble for Hawaiian Tropic Zone: bikini model files suit, says she was groped by bosses.

NY Lottery changes course, says it won't cut $1.4 million in scholarships after all.

Morgenthau won't run for re-election as Manhattan DA; reflections on his 5-decade tenure as a prosecutor

Tolls on East River bridges picks up more Democratic support.

Filene's Basement holds annual 'Running of the Brides;' typical lunacy prevails.

Someone get the smelling salts!-- women at Barney's now buying $300 face creams only three at a time instead of six. (More Times white panic over tough times: 1. New Yorkers facing disastrous life on less than $500,000/year; 2. How's a guy supposed to feed himself on only $160,000? 3. Couple making $55,000 is literally starving to death. 4. Annie Leibovitz pawns her photos, other riches seeking cash for high-priced art to keep wolf from the door. 5. Oh the Humanities! Profs squirm at the the thought of making the case for practical uses of liberal arts degree. 6. Developers face terrifying prospect of only getting $1.1 million for a 2-bedroom condo. 7. Laid-off 55-year-old human resources coordinator with wealthy day trader husband takes unspeakably menial position while on job search, working for a week as a nanny. )

Broadcast television networks increasingly on shaky ground.

Tech exec gets 15 days in jail for hit-and-run death; victim relatives bemoan "rich man's sentence."

Monseratte wouldn't be facing charges if he weren't a state senator, says his attorney.

16-year-old runaway, 53-year-old drug dealer shot dead in seedy Brookyn apartment.

A-Rod meeting with MLB investigators tomorrow.

Time to worry? Johan Santana still nursing sore elbow, misses spring training start.


Rootscover.jpg




The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:


Letters: Ducks are people, too
La Dolce Musto: Did Craig Bierko date Charlize, Meg or Gretchen?
Tom Robbins: Showdown for the BusFella's Union

Feature: Guantanamo's Final Days -- The infamous prison camp ain't dead yet

Calendar: The guide to your week

Feingold: The Story of My Life leaves out whatever might give it a story or a life
More theater this week

Art: Shuster, subbing for Baker, gives the local rundown on things to see

Sietsema: Pink and Pendulous at Flex Mussels
DiGregorio: For the Gentry, Whiskey Sunday Bar-BQ

Hoberman: Examined Life According to Slavoj Žižek and Crew
Foundas: Wayne Kramer's Tasteless Immigrant Drama Crossing Over
More films opening this week

Harvilla: The Roots Take Manhattan -- the new kings of late-night, God (and Jimmy Fallon) willing
More music: The Shifting Republic of K'Naan, The Excess and Eccentricity of Francis and the Lights

¡Ask a Mexican!: Get with the lengua!
 
Find it at villagevoice.com:


Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Advertisement

Loading...