Tuesday's Headlines: Murdoch Apologizes for Chimp Cartoon

Categories: Featured
HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset

Your Tuesday New York headlines...

Murdoch apologizes for chimp cartoon: "We made a mistake." Says after talking to editors, "we will seek to be more attuned to the sensitivities of our community."

The Times continues its white panic over tough times: 1. New Yorkers facing disastrous life on less than $500,000/year; 2. How's a guy supposed to feed himself on only $160,000? 3. Couple making $55,000 is literally starving to death. 4. Annie Leibovitz pawns her photos, other riches seeking cash for high-priced art to keep wolf from the door.

NY's new Catholic archbishop: Falstaffian beer-lover who will enforce the Vatican conservative line.

Times poll: Public's confidence in Obama is high. And Michelle more popular at this point than any first lady in 28 years.

Cuomo wants to grill Thain for a second time about Merrill bonuses.

Five critical after Chinatown fire in building that had been cited for bad wiring.

Mob rat claims in court testimony that he bedded Growing Up Gotti mob sis Victoria Gotti in extramarital affair, and she denies in classic fashion: "I was raised a good Catholic girl."

Comic-book artist sues Adam Sandler, claiming his gay Navy Seal hairdresser character was the basis for "Zohan."

Transit nightmare: MTA's deficit could balloon to $650 million - or even much more.

15-year-old, described as a "teddy bear," shot and killed on a Bronx street.

Rangers fire Tom Renney, hire his polar opposite, former Lightning coach John Tortorella.

Knicks beat the Pacers at home, 123-119.

Nets snap losing streak at home against slumping 76ers, 98-96.


Find it in the VOICE:

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Loading...