Friday's Headlines: With Bernie in jail, focus moves to his wife, family

Categories: Featured
[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Friday New York headlines...

Madoff expresses regret as he pleads guilty and goes to jail; his aim is to shield rest of family.

...but his wife Ruth may have to pack her bags as the feds go after Madoff properties.

"Don't be evil," is Google's motto; Daily News makes the case the search company has become exactly that.

Cramer makes nice on Daily Show, but Stewart jabs him repeatedly.

Tough times at the Met: the art museum lays off 74.

Governors Island so broke it may close; Bloomberg suggests the city take it over from the state.

9/11 families that sued rather than take quicker Congress fund money have ended up with settlements about twice as large, but was that really worth it?

Middle school gives out condoms as part of health fair; parents offended, so now school apologizing, because everyone knows 7th and 8th graders never have sex.

Bizarre: 87-year-old riding his bike on Long Island bursts into flames and dies; cigarette likely ignited his nylon jacket.

14-year-old Queens boy collapses, dies of heart attack, playing basketball after school.

Former Met Ambiorix Burgos found guilty of smacking his girlfriend around, faces up to a year in jail.

Rangers roll over Predators in Nashville, 4-2.



BloomieCover.jpg




The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:


Letters: Seeing May Be Believing
La Dolce Musto: Bernie Madoff Mocked at Party!
Tom Robbins: Bloomberg's Double Deal

Feature: Bloomberg's Dark Knight, by Wayne Barrett

Feingold: Guys and Dolls, and more...
More Theater this week

Art: Pol Bury at Chelsea Art Museum, and more...

Sietsema: Mustang Thakali scales the heights of Nepalese cuisine
DiGregorio: The new incarnation of La Fonda del Sol

Hoberman: In Private Century and A Lust for Ecstasy, home video as cinema
Pinkerton: The Last House on the Left's exploitation is quaintly nostalgic
Foundas: From chaos, hope in Japanese films Tôkyô Sonata and Megane
More films opening this week

Harvilla: No U2 shadenfreude, baby
More music: The-Dream's logic, The Pogues roll triumphantly on, SXSW tip sheet 2009

 

Find it at villagevoice.com:

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Sponsor Content

Loading...