Monday's Headlines: Corrupt ex-cop suspected of killing girlfriend, wounding another

Categories: Featured
[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Monday New York headlines...

Ex-police officer fired for corruption is suspected of killing his Brooklyn girlfriend, wounding another yesterday.

Brooklyn teenager, 17, chases troublemakers from a party, drops dead of a heart attack.

Father picks up Pace University degree for daughter killed by drunk driver.

Foreclosed homes go fast at massive Javits Center auction; a few protested outside.

Bill Thompson steamed that city overtime pay topped $1 billion last year.

Mob no longer controlling bus drivers' union vote, says the Times. Sure about that? See the Voice's Tom Robbins on the 'bus fellas' union.

Revival in the Rockaways is slipping away with abandoned stores.

A couple of night sky lovers want the city to turn out the lights long enough for folks to see stars.

Despite slam by Jon Stewart, CNBC doing just fine in the recession.

Carr: It's time newspapers started colluding to save themselves.

A-Rod to have hip surgery this morning...Jeter says Yanks will "be all right" without him.

Rangers win third straight, beating Buffalo 4-3.

Nets hand Knicks a 106-101 loss.

 

Find it at villagevoice.com:

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Advertisement

Loading...