Monday's Headlines: Times plays catch-up on our Rikers Fight Club story

Categories: Featured
[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Monday New York headlines...

Times catching up on the Rikers Fight Club story that the Voice's Graham Rayman has been reporting for nearly two years.

More AIG drama: Bailout money went to foreign firms and other big banks that AIG owed in derivative gambles. (This isn't news to you if you'd read Jim Lieber's "What Cooked the World's Economy" in the Voice.)

City's finance commissioner resigns over revelations that she was quietly working for real-estate firm on the side.

Nonprofits dealing with swell of volunteers as the laid-off lend a hand during their job searches.

Actor Ron Silver dies of cancer at 62.

Tough neighborhood! Woman struck in the abdomen by an arrow outside a Bronx nursing home.

Vox Pop, a coffeshop/bookstore credited with improving a Brooklyn neighborhood now on the brink.

At Met, where 'suggested' admission is $20, fewer people taking the suggestion seriously, paying less in a bad economy.

'Berserk beauties' want Tyra Banks to give them another shot after melee in line for 'America's Next Top Model' tryouts ruined their chances.

Fire shuts noted Totonno's pizzeria in Coney Island, owned by same family since 1924.

Outfit Elvis wore in Madison Square Garden gig to be auctioned at Rock & Roll Hall of Fame annex in Soho.

March Madness: With UConn, Pitt, and Louisville, Big East gets three of the No. 1 seeds in the NCAA tournament.

LeBron James puts an end to the Knicks 3-game winning streak, 98-93.

Team USA stomps the Dutch, 9-3, to stave off, gulp, elimination.

Sean Avery scores twice as Rangers down the Flyers 4-1.



Find it at villagevoice.com:

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Sponsor Content

Loading...