Saturday's Headlines: Madoff to plead guilty on Thursday

Categories: Featured
[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Saturday New York headlines...


Madoff to plead guilty on Thursday. Court struggling with how to keep so many victims informed of proceedings.

Dwyer: Two "mafia cops" continue to draw pensions even after life sentences upheld.

Bloomberg doesn't like the idea of taxing the rich. Would his friends be disappointed?

E-mails show Bank of America threatened to sue former employee if he helped Cuomo investigate Merrill bonuses.

Borukhova's defense lawyer sums up: doesn't make sense that she would have been present if she'd asked her uncle to kill her ex-husband. (Well, unless she's evil incarnate.)

Bloomberg recruiting top Democratic campaigners, which they struggle with. Meanwhile, read the Tom Robbins piece about Bloomberg's "Golden Republican."

 The riches are panicking, stuffing $1 million cash in $4,000 safes, now selling like hotcakes. (More Times white panic in tough times: 1. New Yorkers facing disastrous life on less than $500,000/year; 2. How's a guy supposed to feed himself on only $160,000? 3. Couple making $55,000 is literally starving to death. 4. Annie Leibovitz pawns her photos, others pawn high-priced art to keep wolf from the door. 5. Oh the Humanities! Profs squirm at making the case for practical uses of liberal arts degree. 6. Developers face terrifying prospect of only getting $1.1 million for a 2-bedroom condo. 7. Laid-off 55-year-old human resources coordinator with wealthy day-trader husband takes unspeakably menial position, working for a week as a nanny. 8. Someone get the smelling salts! -- women at Barney's now buying $300 face creams only three at a time instead of six. 9. Ultimate white nightmare: from $70K manager to $12/hour janitor. 10. Dumping the Rolls Royce only because it's unfashionable. 11. My horrible McMansion is suddenly worth only $1 million, where's my bailout?)

Art business hurting? Not if the gallery is also your living room. And you live in Bushwick.

Real estate crimes up, so Brooklyn responds with a special unit to fight it.

City loses documents with Social Security numbers for thousands of employees.

Spring training: Sabathia looks good in his first Yankees start.

Nets lose in Orlando, 105-102.





MaskCover.jpg




The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:


Letters: Good 'Stuff'
La Dolce Musto: Which American Idol Star is a Lesbyterian?

Feature: Bloomberg's 'Golden' Republican, by Tom Robbins

Calendar: The guide to your week

Feingold: This Beautiful City, Our Town, and Winter's Tale
More theater this week

Art: Lutz Bacher gets damaged

Sietsema: Introducing La Superior's Goth-Mex
DiGregorio: Floral Park's Mumbai Xpress

Hoberman: Zack Snyder didn't ruin Watchmen -- he just sapped it of its superpowers
Foundas: Rip Torn, roaring, at Anthology
More films opening this week

Harvilla: David Byrne remains in the light
More music: The joys of DIY disco, Viva Talibam!, A beginner's guide to the Daktaris


Find it at villagevoice.com:

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Loading...