Sunday's Headlines: Hate-Crime Suspect Claims Self-Defense

Categories: Featured
HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset

Your Sunday New York headlines...

Hate-crime suspect Keith Phoenix claims self-defense in murder of Ecuadoran immigrant, his lawyer says victim kicked the door of Phoenix's van, reached for (nonexistent) weapon.

Long-reviled Rockefeller drug laws swiftly being dismantled by Paterson, Democratic legislature.

Crime's down, but murder is up: will New York go back to the bad old days in a recession?

Ed Koch ready to go: already has tombstone in place, though the 84-year-old is feeling OK.

Ultimate white nightmare: from $70K manager to $12/hour janitor -- "survival jobs" in the new economy. (More Times white panic over tough times: 1. New Yorkers facing disastrous life on less than $500,000/year; 2. How's a guy supposed to feed himself on only $160,000? 3. Couple making $55,000 is literally starving to death. 4. Annie Leibovitz pawns her photos, other riches seeking cash for high-priced art to keep wolf from the door. 5. Oh the Humanities! Profs squirm at the the thought of making the case for practical uses of liberal arts degree. 6. Developers face terrifying prospect of only getting $1.1 million for a 2-bedroom condo. 7. Laid-off 55-year-old human resources coordinator with wealthy day trader husband takes unspeakably menial position while on job search, working for a week as a nanny. 8. Someone get the smelling salts!-- women at Barney's now buying $300 face creams only three at a time instead of six.)

The Post estimates "tea party" gathering of conservatives objecting to Obama policies at only 150. See Roy Edroso's report from the scene.

Stupid daily newspaper tricks: Times reporter wears Snuggie in Times Square, Daily News reporter wears one on streets of Brooklyn

Sullenberger peforms miracle Hudson landing, but won't be able to return to flying without time in a simulator - it's the rules.

Dwyane Wade walks all over Knicks, scores 46 in 120-115 defeat in Miami.

Offense returns in a big way: Rangers 6, Avalanche 1


 
Find it at villagevoice.com:


Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Sponsor Content

Loading...