Sunday's Headlines: Obama tells the Times he wants outreach with Taliban

Categories: Featured
[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Sunday New York headlines...

Times interview with Obama: He considers reaching out to the Taliban.

That little 14-year old mini-Limbaugh from Atlanta is even more annoying than you thought.

"Mob cops" finally put away for good, but they leave the city $1.4 billion in civil claims.

Hurt by the economy, homeowners are vulnerable to scammers who claim to rescue their homes, but take them away instead.

Finally, a reason to wear a bridesmaid dress a second time: woman donate their dresses for teens to use as prom dresses.

Recession hardly dampers the gullibility industry: "Self-help" guru gets thousands out of folks who really can't afford it, including the unemployed guy who had to pawn his Darth Vader figure to attend.

Endangered species: hardly any bars left in town without televisions.

Javits Center hosts massive house auction: Queens $550K home starts at $69K.

The Times finally begins to acknowledge that our economic problems have less to do with overdue mortgages and more to do with exotic schemes at financial institutions. Maybe someone over there finally read James Lieber's excellent "What Cooked the World's Economy" story in the Voice.

T.G.I.Friday's in financial district closed for drug dealing going on at the bar.

Santana pitches two innings, Mets cautiously optimistic about his progress.

D'Antoni not happy after Knicks lose to lowly Bobcats, 114-105.
 






MaskCover.jpg




The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:


Letters: Good 'Stuff'
La Dolce Musto: Which American Idol Star is a Lesbyterian?

Feature: Bloomberg's 'Golden' Republican, by Tom Robbins

Calendar: The guide to your week

Feingold: This Beautiful City, Our Town, and Winter's Tale
More theater this week

Art: Lutz Bacher gets damaged

Sietsema: Introducing La Superior's Goth-Mex
DiGregorio: Floral Park's Mumbai Xpress

Hoberman: Zack Snyder didn't ruin Watchmen -- he just sapped it of its superpowers
Foundas: Rip Torn, roaring, at Anthology
More films opening this week

Harvilla: David Byrne remains in the light
More music: The joys of DIY disco, Viva Talibam!, A beginner's guide to the Daktaris


Find it at villagevoice.com:

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)
Loading...