Sunday's Headlines: AIG plans $165 million in bonuses after $170 billion bailout!

Categories: Featured
[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Sunday New York headlines...

Greed 101: After $170 billion bailout, AIG planning to hand out $165 million in bonuses to its senior employees!

Greed 201: NYC landlords prepare to fight the city's contention that they've been double-dipping, claiming a tax break for regulated apartments after they've been deregulated.

Greed extra credit: Bank robberies up, commish Kelly considers deterrence efforts.

City's finance commissioner, overseeing real-estate assessment, secretly got permission to work on the side for a real-estate firm.

Three arrested when fights break out in line to audition for America's Next Top Model.

Three stabbed in Times Square when teens from Brooklyn and Newark battle.

The future of elections? Parents will choose school councils in first public on-line voting.

Justice Department has until Tuesday to decide if Bloomie's term limits coup is a voting rights violation.

Someone killing trees again in Inwood Hilll Park.

A.J. Burnett looks strong in spring outing for the Yanks.

A-Rod goes from crutches to rehab.

Team USA whipped by Puerto Rico, 11-1, now have to beat Dutch to stave off elimination.




BloomieCover.jpg




The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:


Letters: Seeing May Be Believing
La Dolce Musto: Bernie Madoff Mocked at Party!
Tom Robbins: Bloomberg's Double Deal

Feature: Bloomberg's Dark Knight, by Wayne Barrett

Feingold: Guys and Dolls, and more...
More Theater this week

Art: Pol Bury at Chelsea Art Museum, and more...

Sietsema: Mustang Thakali scales the heights of Nepalese cuisine
DiGregorio: The new incarnation of La Fonda del Sol

Hoberman: In Private Century and A Lust for Ecstasy, home video as cinema
Pinkerton: The Last House on the Left's exploitation is quaintly nostalgic
Foundas: From chaos, hope in Japanese films Tôkyô Sonata and Megane
More films opening this week

Harvilla: No U2 shadenfreude, baby
More music: The-Dream's logic, The Pogues roll triumphantly on, SXSW tip sheet 2009

 

Find it at villagevoice.com:

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Advertisement

Loading...