Thursday's Headlines: Catholic Church fights Albany to protect Pedo-Priests

Categories: Featured
[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Thursday New York headlines...

Legislature wants to life statute of limitations on child sex abuse lawsuits: Catholic Church objects, saying bill intended to bankrupt it.

Daily News shows odd bit of sympathy for monster Madoff: may have spent "his last night with wife Ruthie."

Rabbi Weingarten found guilty of molesting his daughter after bizarre trial.

Model suing anonymous blogger who called her a "skank."

Washington Heights Dominicans taking loss to Dutch in WBC very hard.

New Mets stadium may have shaky Citi's name on it, but subway stop won't!

Weiner backing off from mayor's race, at least for the moment.

Circumstances of Carrión's home improvement will be checked by Bronx prosecutors.

Paterson's weakness showing: he drops plans to tax soda, concert tickets, etc. to make nice with Legislature.

Engine comes apart on American Airlines jet leaving La Guardia for Chicago, lands safely at JFK after parts fall on roofs in Queens.

"Listen, I'm a cop. I'm parking here," retired cop tells security guard at Elaine's restaurant; now he's in hot water.

Knicks get big overtime win over Pistons in Detroit, 116-111.

Nets fall to Warriors in Oakland, 116-112.

St. John's manages only 10 points in first half against Marquette at the Garden in 74-45 whipping.



BloomieCover.jpg




The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:


Letters: Seeing May Be Believing
La Dolce Musto: Bernie Madoff Mocked at Party!
Tom Robbins: Bloomberg's Double Deal

Feature: Bloomberg's Dark Knight, by Wayne Barrett

Feingold: Guys and Dolls, and more...
More Theater this week

Art: Pol Bury at Chelsea Art Museum, and more...

Sietsema: Mustang Thakali scales the heights of Nepalese cuisine
DiGregorio: The new incarnation of La Fonda del Sol

Hoberman: In Private Century and A Lust for Ecstasy, home video as cinema
Pinkerton: The Last House on the Left's exploitation is quaintly nostalgic
Foundas: From chaos, hope in Japanese films Tôkyô Sonata and Megane
More films opening this week

Harvilla: No U2 shadenfreude, baby
More music: The-Dream's logic, The Pogues roll triumphantly on, SXSW tip sheet 2009

 

Find it at villagevoice.com:

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Sponsor Content

Loading...