Wednesday's Headlines: Madoff swindle as much as $65 billion; faces 150 years in prison

Categories: Featured
[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Wednesday New York headlines...

Madoff theft total up to $65 billion; faces up to 150 years in prison when he pleads guilty tomorrow.

...and his wife is now target of probe for her role.

Paterson may compromise on Rockefeller drug law revision; throwing a bone to Republicans opposed to Democratic rollback.

Cops bust up Trinitarios drug gang in Washington Heights, arresting 34 members of mostly Dominican cabal, including three leaders.

Borukhova found guilty in murder of her ex-husband; the trial has been miserable for NY's small Bukharian Jewish community.

Gillibrand getting the help of many of Clinton's old crew.

7-year-old girl charms reporters as doctor describes the surgery to remove tumor that involved taking out six of her organs.

Firefighter delivers baby in the back of a livery cab.

Jury still thinking over a verdict in rabbi child-molest trial.

Mob defendant's lawyer tells jury his client was too drunk all the time to be the trusted killer he's accused of being.

Your cellphone tells advertisers all they want to know about you.

In the Bronx, separating the boys and girls at fifth grade seems to be working.

"Racino" at Aqueduct is nixed by Albany.

Joba Chamberlain looking like his previous self in successful spring outing.

Knicks avoid further disaster, beat Bucks in Milwaukee, 120-112.


 

Find it at villagevoice.com:

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)

Sponsor Content

Loading...