Wednesday's Headlines: Natasha Richardson hit nothing, simply fell in beginner's ski lesson, public waiting to hear extent of head injuries

Categories: Featured
[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Wednesday New York headlines...

Natasha Richardson flown to New York, public still waiting for word of how serious her head injuries are from skiing accident...

...on life support, 'brain dead' say family members.

IRS plans deduction to help Madoff victims, but can't do anything about their stupidity.

Tracking down an anonymous hero: actor jumps onto subway tracks to rescue man, leaps out of the way, then catches the train himself.

Bad economy means performers on subway will get more numerous, even more annoying.

Calling bullshit on the concept of "retention pay," supposedly needed to keep talent at financial firms.

Mob hit man Carneglia found guilty of four murders.

Department of Justice won't stand in the way of Bloomberg's term-limits coup.

Crappy elevators in public housing cause lots of injuries.

Conflict-of-interest allegations catch up with parking-ticket judge.

David Wright provides heroics in Team USA's ninth-inning rally.

Mariano Rivera, the ageless Yankees wonder, looks good in spring training debut.

Rangers down Montreal in 4-3 shootout.



PowerBall.jpg




The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:


Letters: Tsk-tsk
La Dolce Musto: Shocking Secret about Gay Porn Star
Tom Robbins: Bloomberg's Homeless Pledges Fell Far Short

Feature: The Raw Intensity of New York's Elite Youth Basketball, by Graham Rayman

Spring Guide: David Levine Messes with Imperfection in Venice Saved: A Seminar
More Theater this week

Art: In VB64, Vanessa Beecroft Sings the Body Eclectic...

Books: Mary Gaitskill's Trapdoors and Mirror Balls

Sietsema:Foamy and Dappled at Buttermilk Channel

Hoberman: The Excruciating Details of Death-by-Starvation in Hunger
More films opening this week

Harvilla: The Hesitant Triumph of Britney Spears
More music: The Brilliant Disguises of Will Oldham, and much more...


Find it at villagevoice.com:


Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor:
Tony Ortega (tortega at villagevoice.com)
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at villagevoice.com)
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at villagevoice.com)
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at villagevoice.com)
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at villagevoice.com)
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at villagevoice.com)

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at villagevoice.com)
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at villagevoice.com)
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at villagevoice.com)
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at villagevoice.com)

Writers/critics/columnists:
Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at villagevoice.com)
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at villagevoice.com)
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at villagevoice.com)
Roy Edroso (redroso at villagevoice.com)
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at villagevoice.com)
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at villagevoice.com)
Michael Musto (musto at villagevoice.com)
Graham Rayman (grayman at villagevoice.com)
Tom Robbins (trobbins at villagevoice.com)
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at villagevoice.com)


Sponsor Content

Loading...