Rubén Díaz Jr. Re-Elected Borough President in the Bronx

Categories: Election 2013

Ruben Diaz Campaign Facebook
Incumbent Democrat Rubén Díaz Jr. was re-elected borough president of the Bronx in a landslide. Díaz was not always running for re-election; he ditched his bid for public advocate and instead refocused his efforts on the borough presidency in November 2012.

There weren't any races that were that hotly contested in the Bronx. It's a clean sweep for the Democrats, incumbents and challengers alike. Here's a roundup of all the races in the borough.

Borough President -- 48 percent of precincts reporting
WINNER: Ruben Díaz Jr., Democratic Party, Working Families Party: 88.2 percent (51,585 votes)
Elizabeth Perri, Republican Party, Conservative Party: 9 percent (5,261 votes)
Mark Escoffery-Bey, Independence Party, War Veterans Party: 1.6 percent (937 votes)
Carl Lawrence Lundgren, Green Party: 1.2 percent (692 votes)

See Also: Our Election 2013 Coverage

City Councilmember, 11th District
WINNER: Andrew Cohen, Democratic Party, Working Families Party
Patricia Brink, Republican Party
William Kalaidjian, Conservative Party
John H. Reynolds, Green Party
Cheryl Keeling, School Choice Party

City Councilmember, 12th District
WINNER: Andy L. King, Democratic Party, Working Families Party
Robert Diamond, Republican Party, Conservative Party
Trevor Archer, Green Party

City Councilmember, 13th District
WINNER: James Vacca, Democratic Party
William E. Britt, Jr., Republican Party, Conservative Party

City Councilmember, 14th District
WINNER: Fernando Cabrera, Democratic Party, Working Families Party
Denise Butler, Republican Party
Alan H. Reed, Conservative Party

City Councilmember, 15th District
WINNER: Ritchie Torres, Democratic Party, Working Families Party
Joel Ray Rivera, Republican Party
Joel Bauza, Conservative Party

More results on page two...

Sponsor Content

Now Trending

New York Concert Tickets

From the Vault